Gorton and Denton 2024 general election results in full

Voters in Gorton and Denton have gone to the polls in the 2024 general election.

A new Member of Parliament will be elected for the Greater Manchester constituency, which covers the areas of Burnage, Gorton and Abbey Hey, Levenshulme, Longsight, Denton North East, Denton South and Denton West.

Before the election, the incumbent MP for the former Denton and Reddish constituency was Labour MP Andrew Gwynne. Mr Gwynne, who has been an MP since 2005, is standing for the new seat, which includes parts of the old Manchester Gorton constituency where the incumbent MP was Labour’s Afzal Khan.

READ MORE: Follow the latest news and updates on the general elections

The surprise summer general election was called by Rishi Sunak on 22 May. Elections were held in all 650 constituencies in the UK. Since the 2019 general election, important boundary changes have come into force, affecting 90% of constituencies.

Before the election, a conservative government had been in power in parliament since 2010.

Polls for the 2024 General Election closed at 10pm on Thursday 4 July, with counting taking place overnight. Results from across the UK are expected in the early hours of Friday morning.

You can see all the results for the constituency as soon as they are announced in Gorton and Denton and across the UK in the interactive widget and map below, which will be updated as soon as the count is announced. Find out who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.