Polling stations across Wales open at 7am today for the UK general election.

Polling stations across Wales open at 7am today for the UK general election.

Polling stations across Wales open at 7am today for the UK general election.

A total of 14 candidates are running in the two constituencies that cover Flintshire.

Taking into account the recent boundary changes, the county’s residents will be divided into two separate constituencies.

These include an enlarged constituency for Alyn and Deeside and the newly created constituency of Clwyd East.

These changes are the result of a redistricting exercise aimed at equalising the number of voters in the UK constituencies and reducing Welsh representation at Westminster by eight seats.

Alyn and Deeside

Candidate list:

Edwin Duggan – Independent

Jeremy Kent – ​​Conservative Party

Karl Macnaughton – Green Party

Richard Marbrow – Liberal Democrats

Jack Morris – Plaid Cymru

Vicki Roskams – Reform UK

Mark Tami – Labour Party

Border changes

The Alyn and Deeside constituency has grown since the last general election, expanding towards Flint following the abolition of the old Delyn constituency.

Places covered include Aston, Broughton, Buckley, Caergwrle, Connah’s Quay, Hawarden, Higher Kinnerton, Hope, Llanfynydd, Mancot and Penyffordd.

The seat also includes Queensferry, Saltney, Sealand, Shotton, Treuddyn, Bagillt and Flint.

Clwyd East

Candidate list:

Alec Dauncey – Liberal Democrats

James Davies – Conservative Party

Becky Gittins – Labour Party

Lee Lavery – Green Party

Paul Penlington – Plaid Cymru

Rob Roberts – Independent

Kirsty Walmsley – Reform UK

Border changes

This constituency covers much of the old Delyn constituency, including the Flintshire boroughs of Mold, Holywell, Mostyn, Caerwys, Northop and Northop Hall.

Other Flintshire towns in the constituency include Argoed, Brynford, Cilcain, Ffynnongroyw, Greenfield, Gronant, Gwernaffield, Gwernymynydd, Halkyn, Leeswood, New Brighton, Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor, and Whitford.

It also includes places in Denbighshire such as Prestatyn, Ruthin, Llangollen, Llandegla, Llandyrnog, Meliden and Dyserth, as well as the Llangollen rural district of Wrexham.

What time do the polling stations close?

Polls close at 10pm. If you are standing in line outside your polling station at 10pm, you can still vote.

How to find your local polling station

Your local polling place is clearly marked on your ballot paper, which you received in the mail if you are registered to vote.

You can find your local polling station here on the Electoral Commission website.

Or here: UK General Election: Alyn and Deeside constituency – Where can you vote?

UK General Election: Clwyd East constituency – Where to vote…

Voter ID

This is the first general election with new photo ID rules, meaning anyone who cannot produce valid ID will not be allowed to vote.

There are 22 accepted forms of photo ID, including passports, driver’s licenses and bus passes for seniors or disabled people.

Jackie Killeen, Director of Administration and Advisory at the Electoral Commission, said:

“This is the first general election where photo ID is required, so it is important that people are aware of this requirement and are prepared. There is a long list of accepted forms of ID.”

The name on your ID card must match the name on the electoral roll.

You can still use your photo ID even if it is out of date and contains your picture.

Accepted form of ID:

You can use one of the following accepted photo identification forms when voting at the polling station.

You only need to present a photo ID. It must be the original, not a photocopy or digital version.

Travel abroad

  • Passport issued by the United Kingdom, one of the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man, a British Overseas Territory, an EEA state (opens in a new window) or a Commonwealth country (including an Irish passport card)

Driving and parking

  • Driving licence issued in the United Kingdom, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man or an EEA State (including a provisional licence)
  • A blue badge

Travel locally

  • UK government funded bus pass for older people
  • Bus pass for disabled people funded by the British government
  • 60+ London Oyster Photocard funded by Transport for London
  • Freedom Pass
  • Scottish National Entitlement Card issued for concessionary travel (including a bus ticket for over 60s, disabled people or under 22s)
  • Reduced Welsh Travelcard for over 60s
  • Welsh Disabled Concession Card
  • SmartPass for seniors issued in Northern Ireland
  • Registered Blind SmartPass or Blind Person’s SmartPass issued in Northern Ireland
  • Was Disablement SmartPass issued in Northern Ireland
  • 60+ SmartPass issued in Northern Ireland
  • Half-price SmartPass issued in Northern Ireland

Proof of age

  • Identity card with the Proof of Age Standards Scheme hologram (a PASS card)

Other government-issued documents

The new rules came into force last year. The British government said they would help prevent electoral fraud. Fraud cases are relatively rare in the UK.

According to the Electoral Commission, 1,462 cases of suspected electoral fraud were reported to police between 2019 and 2023. Of these, 10 resulted in convictions and police issued four warnings. In most cases, police took no further action.

The Election Commission has asked the government to expand the list of accepted identification documents and allow voters to cast their vote without ID if another registered voter can vouch for their identity.

Discovered something? A story? Send a Facebook message | A direct message on Þjórsárden | Email: (email protected)

Latest news

  • Election 2024 – The counting live from Coleg Cambria, Connah’s Quay
  • For safety reasons, the A550 Tinkersdale will be closed for resurfacing
  • Police update on missing 85-year-old Cheshire last seen near Carmel Cricket Club