The results of the 2024 Wrekin General Election are complete

Voters in The Wrekin have gone to the polls in the 2024 general election.

A new Member of Parliament is elected for the Shropshire constituency, which covers the Shropshire constituencies of Albrighton, Cheswardine, Hodnet, Shifnal North, Shifnal South and Cosford, and the Telford and Wrekin wards of: Admaston & Bratton, Apley Castle, Arleston & College, Church Aston & Lilleshall, Donnington, Edgmond, Ercall, Ercall Magna, Hadley & Leegomery, Haygate & Park, Lawley, Muxton, Newport East, Newport North, Newport South, Newport West, Shawbirch & Dothill and Wrockwardine.

Before the election, Conservative Mark Pritchard was the MP for The Wrekin.

READ MORE: Follow the latest news and updates on the general elections

The surprise summer general election was called by Rishi Sunak on 22 May. Elections were held in all 650 constituencies in the UK. Since the 2019 general election, important boundary changes have come into force, affecting 90% of constituencies.

Before the election, a conservative government had been in power in parliament since 2010.

Polls for the 2024 General Election closed at 10pm on Thursday 4 July, with counting taking place overnight. Results from across the UK are expected in the early hours of Friday morning.

You can see all the results for the constituency as soon as they are announced in The Wrekin and across the UK in the interactive widget and map below, which will update as soon as the count is announced. Find out who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.