Harry Crockett goes too deep in round one of the Trans-Mississippi Amateur

Harry Crockett goes too deep in round one of the Trans-Mississippi Amateur

Harry Crockett goes too deep in round one of the Trans-Mississippi Amateur

Harry Crockett (Ben Adelberg/Back of the Range photo)

Harry Crockett shot a bogey-free 8-under-par 63 in the first round of the 2024 Trans-Mississippi Amateur Championship at Flint Hills National Golf Club in Andover, Kansas, to advance to the second round with a one-stroke lead.

Crockett, who just finished his junior season at Nebraska, started on the 10th hole and shot a 29 on the back nine, his front nine, with five birdies and an eagle on the 18th. He added birdies on holes 1 and 2, got to 8 under par over the first 11 holes and made seven pars on the way to the clubhouse.

Crockett began his college career at Hutchinson Community College in Kansas, so he knows the area well.

“The fairways are pretty fast,” Crockett told Back of the Range’s Ben Adelberg after the round. “It’s just great to hit the ball and get a little bit of spin. The greens are perfect and roll so well.”

“I’ve been in Kansas for a while now and I’ve gotten used to playing golf in Kansas,” Crockett added.

Another Big Ten golfer, Cameron Huss of Wisconsin, is alone in second place after a first round of 64 (7 under par), and Joseph Lloyd, Kristoffer Kuvaas and Ryan Eshleman are T3 at 6 strokes (6 under par). Rhett South and Ryder Cowan are T6 at 5 strokes (5 under par).

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association was officially formed on June 8, 1901. Its primary goal was to encourage continued interest in amateur golf. That year, the first Trans-Mississippi Championship was held. It has been held every year since then, except for a three-year interruption during World War II. The championship is played each year at a different course near or west of the Mississippi River.

The list of past champions includes some of the biggest names in amateur and professional golf, including Jack Nicklaus (twice), Charlie Coe (four times), Deane Beman, Ben Crenshaw, George Archer, Gary Koch, Bob Tway and Mark Brooks.

In 1987, the tournament field was restricted to mid-amateurs (25 years and over). In 2009, two important changes were made: (i) the field was reopened to players of all ages and (ii) the format, which had previously been 36 holes of stroke play to determine a 64-player field for match play, was changed to 54 holes of stroke play. Since 2011, it has been a 72-hole stroke play championship.

Show results for Trans-Miss Championship

ABOUT THE Trans Miss Championship

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years, the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other greats of the professional tour. In 1987, the championship was changed to a mid-amateur age requirement and a senior division was added. Beginning in 2010, the Trans-Mississippi Championship returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament and immediately established itself as a “must-play” event among the best college and mid-am players while converting to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field begins at 144 players from Trans-Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players who receive a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, play is rounded to the top 54 players and ties playing the final two rounds.

View full tournament information